Bookmark and Share

1. Orientations
a. Figures
2. Koran
3. Theology
4. Concept of divine
5. Sharia
6. Muhammad
7. Cult and Festivals
8. Mecca
9. Cultic personalities
10. Caliph
11. Structures
12. Popular religion
13. Others
14. Calendar

Open the online Arabic language course

Islam / Sharia | Shi'i / Twelver /
Arabic: ja¢fariyya

School of Shari'a, the law system of the Twelver Shi'i Islam.
Jafari is also used as another name for the Twelver Shi'is, reflecting the integration between law and theology in the creed. In many texts and books, Jafari and Twelver Shi'ism is not distinguished, but presented as one orientation.
The fiqh of Jafari is somewhat different from that of Sunni schools, in which it does not employ qiyas, but uses the intellect, ¢aql. Another difference is of course, that it doesn't use the same hadiths. Many Sunni hadiths are excluded due to being attributed to enemies of Shi'ism, like what is the case with Aisha's hadiths. Also they have a rich collection of their own unique hadiths, related to the imams, which by Shi'i definition could not commit sin or err.
Among the differences between Sunni and Shi'i law are the focus on taqiyya, the permit to lie when life and health is in danger, and mut'a, temporary marriage.

By Tore Kjeilen