Arabic: najd
Other spelling: Nejd



The region in north-central Saudi Arabia, with about 7 million inhabitants (2003 estimate). It was a kingdom from 1902 until 1932.

The geography of Najd is a rocky plateau. It is bordered by the mountains of Hijaz in the south-west; Jordan and Iraq in the north; the Saudi coast of the Persian Gulf known as al-Hasa in the east; and the empty quarter of the Arabian peninsula, Rub al-Khali, in the south.

Najd is politically the heartland of modern Saudi Arabia, as it was from here that the Saud family conquered the rest of the regions now making up the country.

In modern Saudi Arabia Najd is called the Central Region, comprising 3 provinces; Ha’il, Buraydah, and Riyadh.

1745: With the rise of the Wahhabi movement, large parts of the region come under the joint rule of the Saud family.
1824: Saudi control over Riyadh is reestablished.
1891: The Rashidi family drives the Sauds out of Riyadh with the help of the Ottoman Empire.
1902: Ibn Saud conquers Riyadh with an army of 200 men, and expells the Rashidi dynasty.
1903: Ibn Saud declares himself Sultan of Najd.
1932: After years of conquest, Saudi Arabia is declared a kingdom. Riyadh becomes the new capital.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here